For my husband and I, cooking dinner is a way to catch up on the happenings of each others day and so we usually wait until he comes home at 5pm to get dinner started. He will take one thing and I will take another and by some happy coincidence it all seems to work perfectly. The kids know this is there parents time, so they will run off into there playroom until they are called to dinner.
At dinner it is then there time to say whatever they want to and Travis and I will give them all of our attention, usually something new and a little odd will come out too, like tonight when they asked where daddy worked, I replied "at a bank" they asked "what does he do at the bank" I said " he buys and sells stocks for people" Then the topic changed and cleo asked "can I have my birthday party tomorrow?" and Travis said "We don't have everything that we need for a party ready by tomorrow" she then said "why don't you just buy the stuff tomorrow" we told her "We don't have enough money to just get everything tommorrow" she replied "why don't you just get it from the bank" (like there are happy elves willing to pass out everyone money whenever they need it or something) "we need to work for the money to put in the bank" then she looked at us a little puzzeled "but daddy works at the bank!" We laughed a little but tried to fill in all the blanks as best we could for a five year old.
Felicity our two year old has to be watched like a hawk because she will literally do something the moment your back is turned. When dinner was finished and her two sisters had asked to be excused and where leaving the table to take there plates up to the sink, I turned back to find felicity out of her chair and walking around the back of her seat with her plate still full of food and with some bad two year old footing bumped her plate into the wall and down came all the food to the floor. After moving her out of the way and cleaning up the mess I dumped all the leftovers in the bin only to look up and see her licking a full block of butter! how she got it i don't know..... I swear she is so lucky she is cute!
Sunday, July 12, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)




No comments:
Post a Comment